Important Read this: Read this cool story about yesterday down here in St Petersburg, Florida.

NOTE:   IF YOU ARE NOT RELIGIOUS AND DON’T LIKE CATHOLICS OR WHATEVER,  JUST READ THIS FOR DIVERSITY AND HUMANITY’S SAKE.   THIS IS ABOUT EXPERIENCE AND CULTURE.  ok?  I try to not be an in the box kind of gal,  so  I try to put a new light on this and stuff like this.  It is also about offering support to those who offer you support.

*******************************

If I was Jewish like my Great Grandpa  Diener, I guess this story would be more welcome.     That’s my adopted Dad’s paternal Grandpa. 

But I am not, so ????    SoO????  

Big deal.    My Great Grandpa married a nice Catholic “gurl who was a goy” and turned all around a few times.  I still think about them.  I think they caused a bit of trouble.  My Dad’s Father  used to laugh “here comes the family.”  Diversity….

Diversity:  Here’s  a cool story.  We went to the Diocese of  St. Petersburg ‘s Ordination yesterday.  There are five new priests, all of them pretty cool and younger than me.  Uh,  all but one is younger than me.  More in another post about who they are.  

So I went with my hub at last minute.  I knew that  even though I got up early at 7 am I had better get ourselves down there an hour early because  there are no seats last minute.                             We went  well because two supported us.   Support is hard to come by these days and those who try to do good need it. 

We went because there were two of these guys,  these very positive guys who encouraged me when I had to speak and help organize a road trip to Orlando.  Actually,  one of them talked me out of being nervous and the other laughed at the road trip while he was on the bus.  All this while they were in training to be priests. 

O yeah,  another was from New York and I ran into his family from Brooklyn New York.  They are Italian and I should go up to Spring Hill and eat Pizza with them . 

We went to offer our support.  I also go to meet all the people I have known over the years.  Even  if I do forget their names,  I still get a kick out of saying hello. 

So  being that this was not our first Ordination,   we knew where to sit.  Best to sit on the side toward the back because you can see better and get out the door for the food and reception afterwards.     I couldn’t believe my hub didn’t look where he was sitting or going to try and sit because it was marked reserved.  It is confusing when you first walk in and the place is packed on all sides. 

 But we found our seats in the back on one of the sides of the Cathedral.  We ended u p sitting next  to two  seriously nice Vietnamese ladies who may end up my new friends if I can find them on Facebook.  They  took all the good pictures on their techno I PADS WHILE GETTING IN THE AISLES.  O yeah,  they gave both of us candy after it was over.   And they gave us a hug. 

NIce eh?   And they   HAVE ALL THE PICS I WOULD HAVE TAKEN BECAUSE MY I PHONE IS BROKEN.         

Toward the end of the Mass,  another lady joined  us.  I didn’t know if I liked that she squished us in. IT WAS STANDING ROOM ONLY.   I didn’t know if I could handle one thing:  she wore one of those “over the top traditional veils” that I write about here.  Yeah,  it was interesting.   Weird part is that she was  carrying a rosary and didn’t even follow along with the Mass and was looking more on her IPhone than what was going on.  And after Communion,  she disappeared.   She gave Scott a serious judge look because he couldn’t kneel because he still wears his foot brace.  She disappeared.

I handled it.   I passed that test.   I didn’t have an argie in the pew while Mass was going on.  So now,  I think the entire Diocese owes me dinner that I didn’t cause a serious scene. 

How about it guys?      Some fisherman didn’t have to scoop her out of the Gulf because I swear I didn’t do IT.

But she was older and the whole dang church on our side of the state was THERE . SO,  I COULDN’T EXACTLY THROW HER IN THE GULF OF MEXICO.   BESIDES,  IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A WEIRDER SERIOUS SCENE WITH EVERYONE THERE. 

I PASSED ON THAT ONE.  IT WASN’T EASY.  SO , I DON’T HAVE TO GO TO CONFESSION AND AND … WELL,  I GET A ZILLION POINTS FOR PASSING ON THAT ONE.  BUT IT WASN’T EASY TO PASS ON THAT ONE. 

CATHOLICS AND JEWS ARE RELATED IN THE GUILT FAMILY. 

I STARED AT HER AND I SWEAR SHE looked at ME LIKE SHE KNEW WHAT AND WHERE I WANTED HER.   BUT I DIDN’T SAY ANTHING, BUT “OOOOOOOOOKAYYYYYY”.  AFTER THAT SHE DISAPPEARED. 

I THINK I KNOW WHY.  … 

MEANWHILE,   THERE WAS AN ORDINATION MASS GOING ON AND WE WERE IN THE BACK PEWS ON THE SIDE BY THE DOOR.

So we have five new guys and four of them are in their twenties helping us Catholics here reach     sanctity.  

  I got in line with Scott my hub to thank one of them for his encouragement when we both got to speak in our old parish.  Fr. John remembered us and then I told him that “now is your turn and we are encouraging you….”  and  “if you ever need anything tell the Almighty because maybe we will end up praying and rooting for you again.”   He laughed  and sent us on our way. 

I had a smile on my face when I left.  I wanted to get in line to congrats the newly ordained Fr. Felipe  who is from Columbia and couldn’t have his parents come to his ordination because the US State department didn’t give them Visas to get in here.   He’s the road trip guy and l0ved going on the bus with all of us to a trip we made to Orlando, about an hour away from Tampa.   Our Bishop Lynch called the US State Department  “draconian” in his homily yesterday.   That line was the longest.  

As for those who pick and say that all are abusers: I ask are all teachers abusers as well?          Answer that first.  

HEY I DIDN’T ABUSE THAT LADY IN THE PEW.. I WAS NICE.  NOW DO I GET A FREE DINNER? 

And to all:  there is one God.  We may celebrate differently with our rich traditions that make our worship families who they are,  but this was nice yesterday.  It was funny how my husband and I had to save a spot in line so we could stay in line and get food and drink that they had.   And it was nice to see everyone from our spot around the state. 

When I got done I had to mow the back lawn that was knee high.  Our mower is broken and we had to rent one from the local hardware store.  But I nailed that job in about less than an hour after I got back from going “down” to St Pete. 

So after it was over,   I  put the top down on my convertible  car and put the mower in the back seat of our car   and rolled down Seminole Boulevard here.  I saw my shadow and for  a second there it looked like I had diabla horns the way the wind was blowing. 

Spiritual enrichment.   I really laughed at that one.

But I didn’t kill or throw anyone including her in the Gulf of Mexico with her mantilla.  If she is there now,  she got there by herself.

I swear I won’t have to confess that one.

 

           

 

 

