My Florida thought on that vacationing Nebraska family at Disney that lost their 2 year old boy.

LETS GET A FEW THINGS STRAIGHT:  I have serious compassion.  My prayers go out to this family.  OK, GOD?

But I live here and you cannot fix stupid.  I have lived here since 1970. Lakes are seen as dangerous to the unknowing.   Awareness is the serious key here.

When we came here,  the real estate agent would invite us the transplanted Northerners from New York to her house on a Florida lake.  I was six years old.  I stood by that pretty lake.    Two seconds later, that real estate lady pulled me  by the arm hard  AWAY FROM THERE UP TO ABOUT 200 YARDS UP THE HILL FROM THAT LAKE.   There’s a Gator in the  my lake here    Stay up here with your family and us.  Don’t go down that hill without your Daddy and even then I don’t want you near it.  Too dangerous.  That’s what she said.

That was my first encounter with a Florida  waterway with Gators.

But a family that has no warning in a  high end resort that charges over  $600 to $700 a night just to sleep there,  is awful.  Disney should know better.   I was also wondering what they the family or the Parents doing while their kid was  wading in the water during the fireworks on the beach.  How much had they had to drink?   Also why would any family waste $600 a night on a place like that where there are no warnings about alligators in the water.   And not only that fireworks make Gators and other critters do weird things.  Come see what my Beagle Alfie is like during New Year’s or the July 4th holidays.  The loud noise  did it.   Trust me.

Also:  when you get here people,  go to a Florida spring that  has a barrier .

And furthermore,  when I go up north and see a lake I see it   differently.  I am way more  cautious.   Now you know why!

Got that?

