It was last summer and the water was out and my hub needed serious diabetes foot surgery. It is back on now…#InternationalWomensDay

I am one strong gal.

There is no other way to say this.  I am one strong lady who doesn’t flinch in the face of near disaster and mayhem.

Last night they turned the water on after several months after my husband’s diabetes foot surgery after he had all his toes off on his right foot because of diabetic infection.

The water was off for five months because we had an emergency last summer  that went financially on and on.  I had to hold everything together.  There were hearings to be reset and cancelled and other stuff to deal with and clients who got mad that he had surgery.

One even got nasty on the phone and fired him while cussing and using every unarticulate four letter word on the phone and other means.

So?  That’s what my hub the lawyer said when they whined and didn’t get their way.  I see why this person is the way this person is.

I am one strong gal.  No whining allowed. We are solid.  No fighting allowed.

But I can hear the whiny women now talking in their singsongy voices.  How did you survive?

I didn’t get divorced and didn’t have to go rent an apartment and be poor because you didn’t get your way and called your muuuuutherrrrrr or your friend while you figeted with your finger on the damn phone.

Yeah.  Did you get that memo honey?

I am one strong gal.  I am a strong bitchy woman who endures

We have a pool out back and had a bucket to pour into the toilet to flush it.  And for a few months,  we used the “Florida Hurricane method”. We are used to hurricanes here even though we don’t have to evacuate in this part of our county.   WE do this when the water is out during ‘cane season.

WE are strong and survive imperfect.  We are not a redneck and educated and can solve problems.  We are strong and don’t harp to our friends about how it should be and how you or I should bail out at the least difficulty because welllll that would be the junior high bitchy thing to do.

This means that the water drizzled and we put large bowls underneath because there was still some water drizzling.  Then we poured  the contents into cleaned out mild jugs and used that for drinking and washing. The microwave heated the water up for about 3 minutes each if you tightened it and put it on its side.

To take a bath or shower,  you needed two jugs heated up. You would pour it over yourself just like camping but quicker.  It was concentrated rinsing and not wasting water.

Last week,  hub’s doc smiled when he saw that his diabetes numbers were better than good.  He looked and laughed at me when I told him that I had to re-learn how to cook.  He even wanted to try one of my recipes.

I thought about that this morning, when I put the hose in the pool to refill it.

But that hot shower was long coming.  I wasn’t in there that long, even though it was a short one.

Next is the used fridge search because the one that my Pop in law left is dying a very slow death.  And after that,  is a used oven search.

Then, next   is the renovation schedule .

What has the whole ordeal taught me?  PROBLEM SOLVING.  YOU DON’T JUST ACT LIKE A DWEEBY WOMAN IN A MENTAL OR EMOTIONAL  ITCHY SHOW TO SHOW OFF LIKE YOU THINK YOU SHOULD.  I CAN WAIT JUST ABOUT ANYTHING OUT AND THIS OR THAT PROBLEM WILL BE SOLVED.

I AM A STRONG GAL.

I moved my friend back in,  but that is another story.  I may let her write and tell you.  She is a hero of ours.  She is a cancer survivor and a stroke survivor.

We are strong ladies.

Got that?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

